Thanks “Honey-Bunch”…

I am blessed: with each friendship I not only gain a friend, but also gain an entire family. I revel in their successes and joys, I ache in their miscomings and pains. Since June 2008 I lost a friendship to ‘Egotitis’, and I realised the full extent of the pain when I saw some pictures of a recent joyful occassion in his family. For years he had been talking about this momentous, upcoming event and now nary a word from him nor his family. Not that I blame him, but it did hurt a lot.

And then, this morning I woke to an email from the apple of his eyes, his child, apologising for the ‘gap’, and I have this to say to her, “I don’t know what your father told you honey-bunch, but you have made my day and thanks a lot for reminding me that….”.

When a friend calls to me from the road
And slows his horse to a meaning walk,
I don’t stand still and look around
On all the hills I haven’t hoed,
And shout from where I am, What is it?
No, not as there is a time to talk.
I thrust my hoe in the mellow ground,
Blade-end up and five feet tall,
And plod: I go up to the stone wall
For a friendly visit.-  ROBERT FROST

One thought on “Thanks “Honey-Bunch”…

Leave a Reply

