Tuesday’s Headsmacks

It is evident from the length of this deliberative process and from the flood of leaks that have emerged from Kabul and Washington that the perfect course of action does not exist. Given that reality, the urgent necessity is to make a decision — whether or not it is right.

“Whaaaat…??”, I screech and rub my eyes and try to read it again. This is how the elite and experienced beltway pundit David Broder advises President Obama

Even before I could begin my ‘alpha-beta-gamma’ rant while smacking my head on my keyboard, I caught sight of Steve Benen’s more sensible post, much more nicer civil way of telling Broder:

What a crock.

I realize there’s been a painful decline in the quality of Broder’s analysis in recent years, but this column is a mess……

…..That’s a shame. Given the reality, Broder was facing an editorial deadline, and he decided the urgent necessity was to write a column — whether or not it was right

“Ahhh”, Steve my saviour!.

Next day however, there was this ‘manly man ‘ loving Mark Shields, yes the same Shields (my favourite panel member of ‘Inside Washington’ and PBS contributor) whom I so admire stated this and reminded me of my upcoming optometrist visit.

And I think it makes me nostalgic for those days when we had a manly man in the White House who could say, “Let’s kick some tail and ask questions afterwards” you know? That’s what we really need instead of any reflection.

Honestly, I was lost for words. Thankfully Shields himself came to my rescue and clarified to Think Progress:

Shields contacted ThinkProgress and kindly informed us that his comments below were intended to be sarcastic. We regret our error in misinterpreting his comments and for questioning his motives. Shields told us that his comments were meant to disparage those who consistently argue that more war will solve America’s problems and that his statement was directed at co-panelist and right-wing neoconservative Charles Krauthammer, who, according to Shields, was displeased with the remark. With a deeper appreciation for his wit, we extend our sincere apologies to Mr. Shields

Thank you Mr. Shields for restoring my belief in your opinions and also my own judgement of you as a great pundit!!

And then amidst all the ‘Oh,jeesh, the terrorists are coming, they are coming, they are coming..(even though they are in US custody), what if they escape?, what if they use our prisons as incubators? But this from Jeffrey Toobin was a definite gem, ‘What is they are acquitted?’. Sure, Mr. Toobin with lawyers like you, that could very well come true!!

Lastly, how stoopid should you be, when the day your ‘memoir’ is released, blog sites and newspapers after newspapers should list all the various lies and debunk most of the ‘claims’ in your so-called ‘memoir’..??? Evidently somebody did not care to pay attention to this part of the famous saying,… …you can’t fool all the people, all the time!’

Leave a Reply

