President Obama To Congress: Pass The Damn Bill

One of my favourite scenes from ‘The  American President’ is the final scene when Michael Douglas walks into the Hill for his State of the Union address to the cheers of all.

Need I say that I can hardly wait for 9pm tonight? Yes, I will be glued to the TV but will post my take on his speech later today or tomorrow, until then ………..

=====================================================================

more details later, here are some of my favourite quotes from his speech:

In this new decade, it’s time the American people get a government that matches their decency; that embodies their strength.

That is why jobs must be our number one focus in 2010, and that is why I am calling for a new jobs bill tonight.

How long should we wait? How long should America put its future on hold?

Well I do not accept second-place for the United States of America

Now let’s be clear – I did not choose to tackle this issue to get some legislative victory under my belt. And by now it should be fairly obvious that I didn’t take on health care because it was good politics.

I will not walk away from these Americans, and neither should the people in this chamber.

Do not walk away from reform. Not now. Not when we are so close. Let us find a way to come together and finish the job for the American people.

Rather than fight the same tired battles that have dominated Washington for decades, it’s time to try something new. Let’s invest in our people without leaving them a mountain of debt. Let’s meet our responsibility to the citizens who sent us here. Let’s try common sense.

To do that, we have to recognize that we face more than a deficit of dollars right now. We face a deficit of trust – deep and corrosive doubts about how Washington works that have been growing for years.

We cannot wage a perpetual campaign where the only goal is to see who can get the most embarrassing headlines about their opponent – a belief that if you lose, I win.

To Democrats, I would remind you that we still have the largest majority in decades, and the people expect us to solve some problems, not run for the hills.

(To republicans)..l. Just saying no to everything may be good short-term politics, but it’s not leadership.

We were sent here to serve our citizens, not our ambitions.

I campaigned on the promise of change – change we can believe in, the slogan went. And right now, I know there are many Americans who aren’t sure if they still believe we can change – or at least, that I can deliver it.

But remember this – I never suggested that change would be easy, or that I can do it alone. Democracy in a nation of three hundred million people can be noisy and messy and complicated. And when you try to do big things and make big changes, it stirs passions and controversy. That’s just how it is.

We don’t quit. I don’t quit. Let’s seize this moment – to start anew, to carry the dream forward, and to strengthen our union once more.

Leave a Reply

