Rhino Watch

Here are the pics of the rhino who eluded my nikon but was beautifully captured by Michael’s canon. (click on the picture for enlarged view).

Going Green With Brown

My city supplied rain barrels for those of us interested in collecting and storing the rain water that comes out of the downspouts from our roofs, at a cost of course. Last Saturday, I stood in rain in the early hours to pick up mine. The demand was so high that they had to limit it to one per household. I brought it home but could not install it due to the intermittent rain and very very chilly weather.

Anyway this week my number one priority was ‘going green with brown’: my brown rain barrel. So, here it is ta, da….!!

Had to cut the downspout pipe to fit the barrel underneath it and then replace the elbow-bracket to fit on top of the barrel’s lid. I didn’t have to buy any extra part to fix this. Overall, for $36 this is a good buy!!

Hey, you rain-goddess, me ready for thou!!

ps: Feeling very nostalgic of my paternal grandmother who (forty years ago), would place large copper urns around the house to collect rain water and then filter it for domestic usage!!