Me- My Worst Enemy And I

Complacency creeps in despite one’s best efforts to stay challenged! Quite often it is easy to settle into one’s routines, get into the comfort zone, unaware that there is very little or no growth in the comfort zone. Our minds rationalise multitude reasons and we tend to stick with the calm, comforting and complacent lifestyle. Until of course, something happens to stir the waters.

My ‘stirring-moment’ came last July, when my immediate-neighbour at my office, the lovely Max, shared with me, her joy in securing a management position. Knowing that she was the sole-breadwinner and in quite a similar situation like me, I immediately quizzed her on her decision. We went through the pros and cons of leaving behind the benefits of an union-protected position for a non-bargaining position. It was then that I learnt for the first time that my employer encourages and allows unionised-employees like us, to try out non-unionised jobs on a temporary basis. It is a win-win situation as it gives a chance for employees to try out different jobs from ‘the other-side’, as well as saves some budget-$$$ for the employer, as there is often times than not little or no wage-change during the temporary assignments.

To me, this sounded like a fantastic opportunity, one that I was totally unaware of, even though I had been with this employer for more than five years. Comfort my friends, breeds contentment and contentment in turn breeds big time COMPLACENCY!

We shall have no better conditions in the future if we are satisfied with all those which we have at present.

THOMAS EDISON

So…. shake, shake, shake..! I quickly sent an email to my dad, JMS and GB on my intentions so they can hold my feet to the fire (should I get complacent again), applied for five internal positions one after another very religiously, got called-in for interviews for three positions, prepped-primed-preened myself for the panel-interviews and by X-mas holidays gathered three ‘regrets’.

Back at my desk again in January after a brief X-mas vacation in India, I was slipping into the complacency again. Should I apply for more jobs or should I take a break? Do I even have it in me to face more rejections? My intellect was giving me 1000 reasons for staying comfortable where I was, while I my intuition was seeking out the one-compelling reason for not staying comfortable where I was. Deep inside me, this was troubling me. I touched on my state of mind briefly on April 24, 2011 in this post. You, my friends all rallied around me, encouraging me to keep looking ahead.

And voila, on April 25, 2011, I got the ‘long-awaited-call’. I was called in for a second interview on April 29, 2011 (for a position I interviewed earlier in December) and long story short, by end of May, I now have my own corner-office with full privacy and all perks one could ask for.

I am, often times my worst enemy and ……………..

One thought on “Me- My Worst Enemy And I

Leave a Reply

