Thankful for 2011. Encore Puhleasssseeee….

Compared to the tsunami and the earthquakes that rocked previous Januarys, 2011 found me ushering in the New Year calmly and happily in the company of my father, my son and my nephew. The second best ever to also having my mom, brother and my sil with us on that day. Never the less  it was a moment to treasure, cherish and make lovely memories. Rest of January and February flew by in a wink.

March madness included not only the hot-cold-hot weather but also the news of my friend Fay’s sudden stroke. I am so thankful she survived and when my son and I visited her family on Christmas eve, the joy in that house was almost palpable, even amidst the longing that she will only day walk/talk/work, if not completely as before but at least to some extent. TDPP will have that family always in our thoughts and prayers.

April-May brought lots of spring showers torrents and a new friend: Dr. Ars and family from Dubai. The delightful young family also welcomed a ‘highly learned’ one this October. TDPP wishes them great joy and some well deserved ‘full-night-sleep’ too. April also ushered in a new job opportunity for me at my office and May turned out to be the longest and peaceful transition period thus far in my entire career. I usually get the mandatory 2 weeks or even less time to prepare for the next opportunity. Umm, Feng Shui is working….

June-July summer months were great for my gardening. Enjoyed my tomatoes, peppers and herbs this season along with some bountiful flowers. At office, peace reigned: loved every day at work, so looked forward to the next day and the opportunities it would bring me. 

August was time well spent with my son who was again preparing to leave home briefly to take up residence closer to his University. Made so many loving memories with him. Had to buy twice as much hair colour that month too, but hey, what are few full grey hairs compared to the joys of motherhood? Right?

Sweet September saw me taking the plunge literally into the waters. Oh yes, I signed up for my long-awaited swimming-classes. I didn’t sink and didn’t drown my instructor either. That should count for something? Right, Mary/Janice/Brenda? Thanks to you all for declaring me a champion, if not for excelling at least for showing up for each and every day of the training.

October was fabulous, visited the city that had been long eluding me. Enjoyed good time with my friends. Will be visiting again for sure, as AT and I have tons more to do there. Diwali and a visit from a young friend of TDPP, KT from California were added joys at home. My brave mom, my role model, sailed through total knee replacement in both legs and has now resumed her morning walks. Tons of loving care from my father, brother, sil and my nephew was just what the Dr ordered. Proud of my mom and so very thankful for my loving family!

November ushered in the extended company of our house guest. Both my son and I took the opportunity to enjoy every moment. Almost every evening I grilled my house guest professionally/academically and in the process found a new avenue for me to pursue in the near future. Talk about never missing a knock on the door. Also thankful for the company of RK who was visiting her sons at US via Skype.

December: milder weather than usual, X-mas eve with Fay’s family, X-mas dinner with CI and family, wrapped up project work at office on time, got some good opportunities lined up for the NEW YEAR, boy oh boy, so many blessings in so many different ways.

PS: My heartfelt thanks to all of you, ever supporting friends of TDPP: AT,Ars,BS, CI, G3,GB,J, JK, JMS, MCT, Mary for your unwavering support and love that encouraged me to achieve my 550 posts and counting. To my parents, nephew, my son and my sweet little Joshua: lots of kisses and wishes. 

I am so very blessed by you all! May I have an encore please?

4 thoughts on “Thankful for 2011. Encore Puhleasssseeee….

Leave a Reply

